You are here: Care Student health insurance > statutory health insurance in Germany
Health insurance Care Concept AG

Statutory health insurance for students


Every student in Germany - whether they come from Germany or abroad - needs health insurance. You can choose between private and statutory health insurance. Here we would like to give you some information about the statutory health insurance.

Familienversicherung für StudentenFamily insurance for students

Ende der Versicherung VersicherungspflichtAs a German student you are usually insured by your parents until your 25th birthday. This means that they pay your health insurance as they did at school. After your 25th birthday this is no longer possible and you can insure yourself either privately or legally.

Ende der Versicherung VersicherungspflichtCompulsory insurance for students

All students enrolled in Germany are subject to compulsory insurance. German students after expiration of the family insurance and foreign students after matriculation. For the enrolment itself, you must also submit proof of health insurance.


Erwerbstätigkeit und VersicherungspflichtDischarge from compulsory insurance

Within the first three months after the start of the compulsory insurance, you can be released from the compulsory insurance and take out private health insurance. You can then no longer return to the statutory health insurance for the entire duration of your studies. For foreign students, we offer Care Student , a low-cost and high-performance alternative to statutory health insurance.

Versicherungspflicht

Beginn der VersicherungspflichtEnd of compulsory insurance

With the beginning of the 14th semester or from the 30th birthday, the compulsory insurance for students ends and you have to take out voluntary statutory insurance, which is significantly more expensive than the statutory student insurance. Once you no longer have to take out insurance, you can switch back to private health insurance, which is usually cheaper. For foreign students, we offer Care Student, a low-cost and high-performance alternative to statutory health insurance.


Befreiung von der VersicherungspflichtPremium for statutory health insurance

Ende der Versicherung VersicherungspflichtThe contribution to the statutory health insurance is determined uniformly by law. Students up to 30 years pay 66.33 Euro plus 19.79 Euro (for childless students from 23 years 21.42 Euro). Important: The health insurance companies charge a so-called additional contribution, which varies slightly from health insurance company to health insurance company. With our partner DAK Gesundheit, for example, you pay 76.07 Euros per month. In Germany, nursing care insurance is compulsory for all insured persons. When you turn 30, it is worth switching to private health insurance, because then the contributions to the statutory health insurance will rise sharply.


KrankenversicherungOur partner DAK Gesundheit

With us, you can take out the statutory health insurance for students at the DAK very easily and in just a few clicks online.
Online conclusion of statutory health insurance for students

You'd rather take out private insurance? For foreign students we also offer our private health insurance Care Student.

International Offices

If you have questions about the semester abroad in Germany or about recognition, IOs can help you.

Students in Germany

If you already know exactly where your future career should take you, you can jump straight into your studies in Germany.

Language course in Gemany

Speaking of language skills: Have you ever thought about a language course in Germany?






Apply for health insurance


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFind a suitable health insurance for students, interns, language students...


Where are you coming from? What's your destination? For how long? What's the reason for your stay abroad? How old are you?
Wo kommst du her?
What's your destination?
For how long?
What's the reason for your stay abroad?
How old are you?

Du befindest Dich hier: Care Student Krankenversicherung > Gesetzliche Krankenversicherung für Studenten
Health insurance Care Concept AG

Gesetzliche Krankenversicherung für Studenten


Jeder Student in Deutschland – egal ob er aus Deutschland oder dem Ausland kommt – braucht eine Krankenversicherung. Du kannst dich zwischen der privaten und der gesetzlichen Versicherung entscheiden. Hier möchten wir dir ein paar Infos zur gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung geben.

Familienversicherung für StudentenFamilienversicherung für Studenten

Ende der Versicherung VersicherungspflichtAls deutscher Student bist du in der Regel bis zu deinem 25. Geburtstag über deine Eltern familienversichert. Das heißt, sie bezahlen wie schon zu Schulzeiten deine Krankenversicherung. Nach deinem 25. Geburtstag geht das nicht mehr und du kannst dich entweder privat oder gesetzlich selbst versichern.

Ende der Versicherung VersicherungspflichtVersicherungspflicht für Studenten

Alle in Deutschland eingeschriebenen Studenten unterliegen der Versicherungspflicht. Deutsche Studenten nach Ablauf der Familienversicherung und ausländische Studenten ab der Immatrikulation. Für die Einschreibung selber musst du auch einen Nachweis über die Krankenversicherung einreichen.


Erwerbstätigkeit und VersicherungspflichtBefreiung von der Versicherungspflicht

Innerhalb der ersten drei Monate nach Beginn der Versicherungspflicht kannst du dich von der Versicherungspflicht befreien lassen und eine private Krankenversicherung abschließen. Für die gesamte Dauer deines Studiums kannst du dann nicht mehr in die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung zurückkehren. Für ausländische Studenten bieten wir mit Care Student eine günstige und leistungsstarke Alternative zur gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung.

Versicherungspflicht

Beginn der VersicherungspflichtEnde der Versicherungspflicht

Mit Beginn des 14. Fachsemesters oder ab dem 30. Geburtstag endet die Versicherungspflicht für Studenten und du musst dich freiwillig gesetzlich versichern, was deutlich teurer ist als die gesetzliche Studentenversicherung. Mit Wegfall der Versicherungspflicht ist auch wieder ein Wechsel in die private Krankenversicherung möglich, die in der Regel günstiger ist. Für ausländische Studenten bieten wir mit Care Student eine günstige und leistungsstarke Alternative zur gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung.


Befreiung von der VersicherungspflichtBeitrag zur gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung

Ende der Versicherung VersicherungspflichtDer Beitrag zur gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung ist einheitlich gesetzlich festgelegt. Studenten bis 30 Jahre zahlen einheitlich 66,33 Euro plus 19,79 Euro (für kinderlose Studenten ab 23 Jahre 21,42 Euro). Wichtig: Die Krankenkassen erheben noch einen sogenannten Zusatzbeitrag, der von Krankenkasse zu Krankenkasse leicht variiert. Bei unserem Partner DAK Gesundheit zahlst du z.B. 76,07 Euro pro Monat. Die Pflegeversicherung ist in Deutschland für alle Versicherten verpflichtend. Wenn du 30 wirst, lohnt sich ein Wechsel in die private Krankenversicherung, denn dann steigen die Beiträge zur gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung stark an.


KrankenversicherungUnser Partner DAK Gesundheit

Bei uns kannst du die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung für Studenten bei der DAK ganz einfach und in paar Klicks online abschließen.
Online-Abschluss zur gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung für Studenten

Du möchtest dich lieber privat versichern? Für ausländische Studenten bieten wir auch unsere private Krankenversicherung Care Student.

International Offices

Wenn du Fragen zum Auslandssemester in Deutschland oder zur Anerkennung hast, können dir IOs weiterhelfen.

Studenten in Deutschland

Wenn du schon genau weißt, wo es beruflich später für dich hingehen soll, kannst du dich direkt ins Studium in Deutschland stürzen.

Sprachkurs in Deutschland

A propos Sprachkenntnisse: Hast du schon mal über einen Sprachkurs in Deutschland nachgedacht?






GKV abschließen


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFinde die passende Krankenversicherung für Studenten, Sprachschüler...


Wo kommst du her ? Wo willst du hin ? Für wie lange? Du machst was? Wie alt bist du?
Wo kommst du her?
Wo willst du hin?
Für wie lange?
Was machst du?
Wie alt bist du?