You are here: Care Student Health Insurance > Living, Learning, Studying worldwide > Students worldwide > Arvid's first report

Care Concept World Scholarship: Arvids first report

Since our World Scholarship holder Arvid had to pause his studies in India and temporarily returnto Germany due to the current Corona crisis, he will tell us in his upcoming reports about his experiences during the beginning of his studies in India.

 World ScholarshipMy stay in India in three words: explosive, emotive, versatile.

My semester abroadMy semester abroad is getting closer and closer and I am slowly realising that for five months I will be separated from my family, my friends and my roommates. And I will have to build a completely new life for myself in the city of Bangalore. The panic rises briefly, but then fortunately once again the joy and the desire to experience something new triumphs over the fear.


 World ScholarshipThe journey begins

The journey begins I'm sitting on the train, just saying goodbye to my girlfriend and realizing how a lot of things will change. From now on it’s only Skype, speaking English and eating spicy food. I’m really doing this. In about 15 hours I will be in Bangalore. I gave up my backpack, buckled my seatbelt and I am now ready to enter the world's largest democracy with Air India. The time before India has been a real rollercoaster of emotions, coupled with a lot of stress. Any week several vaccination dates, examinations had to be taken, interim rent had to be paid and my girlfriend, or rather, myself, could not be left out.


 World ScholarshipThe hustle and bustle of Bangalore

The hustle and bustle of Bangalore On the plane I met a nice entrepreneur who told me a lot about Bangalore. Here are a few facts: The weather is constant year round at approximately 26° Celsius, 11.4 million inhabitants and an incredibly strong urban growth (inhabitant increase 2001 to 2011; 100%). When I then learned that my university, where I will study for the next months, is located on the outskirts of the city, about one hour away from the city center, pressed by heavy traffic, it hit me briefly. I imagined my semester abroad in the middle of the Indian bustle. Going to a bar or dancing is probably also part of it. Should I miss all of that?


 World ScholarshipMy new home

I said goodbye to my airplane acquaintance and drove to the International Student Hostel on the campus GKVK. I received my room key and was positively surprised by my one-room apartment. A private bathroom, even if only with bucket shower, and even a kitchen and a balcony were included. So this is where I will spend most of my time now.


 World ScholarshipMy new university

It will still take a good week until I will receive my so-called "kitchen tools". It will also take a few days until I can take my first course, because the registration, for which I had two weeks of time, became a real odyssey. Welcome back to the analog age. Nevertheless, the University of Agricultural Sciences (UAS) was elected the best agricultural university in the country. Later I was to find out what makes this university so special, but more about that in another report. But soon it became clear that a campus of this size with about 1600 hectares hardly fits into the city center and that is probably quite good, because Bangalore does not have anything like a city center. Everywhere in the agglomeration you can find shops, shopping streets, temples and sports fields. The campus functiones as a kind of oasis in the middle of urban chaos...


Arvid's reportsArvids's reports

Arvid's report no. 1
Arvid's report no. 2
Arvid's report no. 3
Arvid's report no. 4: Arvid's studies in India
Arvid's report no. 5: Cultural Differences
Arvid's report no. 6: Community Service
Arvid's report no. 7: Goodbye

Care Student Newsletter

You want exclusive information on living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide? Then subscribe to our Care Student Newsletter!
Ms.  Mr. 


I hereby declare that I agree that the operator of the Care Student Portal, Care Concept AG, may regularly inform me via newsletter about information about living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide. I can revoke this consent at any time.

Further information on the use of recipient data can be found in our data protection declaration at www.care-student.de/datenschutz_eng.php


Semester abroad in Germany

Speaking of language skills: Have you ever thought about a semester abroad in Germany? In this way you can get to know new things without wasting time.

TOP subject:
Health insurance for students in Germany

Probably you have dealt little with the topic of health insurance in Germany so far. No problem! We have compiled important information for you, e.g. when you need health insurance in Germany.

Studying at the FH in Germany

You already know that you want to study in Germany after school, but do you prefer the motto "learning-by-doing"? Then maybe an FH is something for you


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFind a suitable health insurance for students, interns, language students...


Where are you coming from? What's your destination? For how long? What's the reason for your stay abroad? How old are you?
Wo kommst du her?
What's your destination?
For how long?
What's the reason for your stay abroad?
How old are you?

Du befindest Dich hier: Care Student Krankenversicherung > Leben, Lernen, Studieren weltweit > Studenten weltweit > Care Concept Welt-Stipendium

Care Concept Welt Stipendium: Arvids erster Bericht

Da unser Welt-Stipendiat Arvid sein Studium in Indien aufgrund der aktuellen Corona-Krise pausieren musste und vorübergehend nach Deutschland zurückgekehrt ist, erzählt er uns in seinen kommenden Berichten rückblickend von den Erfahrungen, die er während des Beginns seines Studiums in Indien gemacht hat.

Welt StipendiumMein Indienaufenthalt in drei Worten: explosiv, gefühlsgeladen, vielseitig.

Mein AuslandsemesterMein Auslandsemester rückt immer näher und so langsam wird mir bewusst, ganze fünf Monate werde ich von meiner Familie, von meinen Freunden und von meiner WG getrennt sein. Ein komplett neues Leben werde ich mir in der Stadt Bangalore aufbauen müssen. Die Panik steigt kurz an, doch dann siegt zum Glück wieder einmal die Freude und die Lust etwas Neues zu erleben über die Angst.


Welt StipendiumDie Reise beginnt

New Haven Ich sitze im Zug, habe mich gerade von meiner Freundin verabschiedet und realisiere, wie sich vieles verändern wird. Von nun an nur noch skypen, englisch reden, scharf essen. Ich tu es wirklich. In ca. 15 Stunden werde ich in Bangalore sein. Meinen Rucksack aufgegeben, die Sitzschnalle angelegt, kann es nun mit Air India in die größte Demokratie der Welt gehen. Die Zeit vor Indien ist ein wahres Wechselbad der Gefühle gewesen, gepaart mit viel Stress. Jede Woche mehrere Impftermine, Prüfungen mussten absolviert werden, Zwischenmiete musste her und meine Freundin, bzw. ich selbst durfte auch nicht zu kurz kommen.


Welt StipendiumDas Leben in Bangalore

Das Leben in Bangalore Im Flugzeug traf ich einen netten Unternehmer, der mir viel über Bangalore erzählen konnte. Hier ein paar Fakten: Das Wetter ist das ganze Jahr über konstant bei ca. 26C, 11,4 Millionen Einwohner, unfassbar starkes Stadtwachstum (Bev. Anstieg 2001 bis 2011; 100%). Als ich dann erfahren habe, dass meine Universität, wo ich die nächsten Monate studieren werde, am Stadtrand liegt, ca. eine Stunde durch dichten Verkehr gedrängt von der Innenstadt entfernt, traf es mich kurz. Ich stellte mir mein Auslandsemester mitten im indischen Trubel vor. Auch mal in eine Bar oder tanzen zu gehen gehört wohl auch dazu. Auf all das soll ich verzichten?


Welt StipendiumMein neues Zuhause

Ich verabschiedete mich von meiner Flugzeug-Bekanntschaft und fuhr zum International Student Hostel auf den Campus GKVK. Ich erhielt meinen Zimmerschlüssel und war positiv überrascht von meiner Einraumwohnung. Ein eigenes Bad, wenn auch nur mit Eimerdusche und sogar eine Küche, sowie ein Balkon war enthalten. Hier werde ich also den größten Teil meiner Zeit verbringen.


Welt StipendiumMeine neue Universität

Bis ich meine sogenannten "kitchen tools“ erhalten werde, wird es noch gut eine Woche dauern. Auch bis ich meinen ersten Kurs belegen kann wird es noch ein paar Tage dauern, denn die Registrierung, für die ich dann zwei Wochen Zeit hatte wurde zu einer wahren Odyssee. Willkommen zurück im analogen Zeitalter. Dennoch, die University of Agricultural Sciences (UAS) wurde zur besten Agrar-Uni des Landes gekürt. Später sollte ich auch herausfinden was diese Uni so besonders macht, aber dazu in einem anderen Bericht mehr. Schnell wurde jedoch klar, dass ein Campus von diesem Ausmaß mit ca. 1600 Hektar kaum in die Innenstadt passt und das wohl auch ganz gut ist. Denn Bangalore besitzt nicht so etwas, wie die eine Innenstadt. Überall in der Agglomeration sind Geschäfte, Einkaufsstraßen, Tempel und Sportplätze zu finden. Der Campus fungierte als eine Art Oase in Mitten eines urbanen Chaos…


Arvids BerichteArvids Berichte

Arvids Bericht Nr. 1
Arvids Bericht Nr. 2
Arvids Bericht Nr. 3
Arvids Bericht Nr. 4: Arvids Studium in Indien
Arvids Bericht Nr. 5: Kulturelle Unterschiede
Arvids Bericht Nr. 6: Gemeinnützige Arbeit
Arvids Bericht Nr. 7: Abschied

Care Student Newsletter

Du willst exklusive Informationen zum Leben, Lernen und Studieren in Deutschland und weltweit? Dann melde dich zu unserem Care Student Newsletter an!
Frau  Herr 


Hiermit erkläre ich mich einverstanden, dass der Betreiber des Care Student Portals, die Care Concept AG, mich per Newsletter regelmäßig über Informationen zum Thema Leben, Lernen, Studieren in Deutschland und weltweit informieren darf. Diese Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen.

Weitere Hinweise zur Nutzung der Empfängerdaten findest du in unserer Datenschutzerklärung unter www.care-student.de/datenschutz.php


Auslandssemester in Deutschland

A propos Sprachkenntnisse: Hast du schon mal über einen Auslandssemester in Deutschland nachgedacht? So lernst du Neues kennen, ohne Zeit zu verlieren.

TOP-Thema:
Krankenversicherung für Studenten in Deutschland

Wahrscheinlich hast du dich bisher wenig mit dem Thema Krankenversicherung in Deutschland auseinandergesetzt. Kein Problem! Wir haben wichtige Informationen für dich zusammengestellt, z.B. wann du eine Krankenversicherung in Deutschland benötigst.

Studium an der FH in Deutschland

Du weißt schon genau, dass du nach der Schule in Deutschland studieren willst, gehst aber lieber nach dem Motto "learning-by-doing" vor? Vielleicht ist dann eine FH was für dich


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFinde die passende Krankenversicherung für Studenten, Sprachschüler...


Wo kommst du her ? Wo willst du hin ? Für wie lange? Du machst was? Wie alt bist du?
Wo kommst du her?
Wo willst du hin?
Für wie lange?
Was machst du?
Wie alt bist du?

facebook instagram xing linkedin