You are here: Care Student Health Insurance > Living, Learning, Studying in Germany > Students in Germany > Welcome to Germany Stipendium: Sivasankar's first report

Care Concept Welcome to Germany Stipendium: Sivasankar's first report: Hello Germany!

Welcome to GermanyEpisode – 1: The Journey to Germany

2020 has been a very long and interesting year - A truly historic year. From hectic business continuity plans at my previous workplace to my long-awaited VISA approval process to the final touch down in Germany, there is so much to share.

Waiting
As I waited for the German Embassies to reopen and start processing the new applications for student VISAs, the rate of COVID-19 infections surged throughout India. I kept face masks and sanitizers close and my hopes up. Like everyone around me, I stayed indoors, worked remotely and every once in a while, I took my old guitar for spin to break the silence.

Bei meiner TanteAt my aunts house
I left my job on August 10th, 2020 and moved to my aunt’s house where I stayed until I finally got to travel to Germany. After months of being alone, now I finally had company – my aunt and my grandad. It was a good family time. There were home cooked meals as far as the eye could see and I would take long afternoon naps after stuffing myself. My grandad and I would go for early morning walks in the colony. With the exception of the widespread Covid tragedy that was at the peak during those times, it was a perfect time in my life.

My VISA
Finally, towards the end of August, I got an appointment with the German Visa office. The appointment went smooth and then the wait began for the VISA to arrive. Around the same time, my University started, and I attended my lectures online along with the rest of the class. Assignments deadlines and long lectures quickly, and without my notice, flooded my life. Then, in October first week, I finally received my Passport with the VISA stamped and ready. I decided to fly on the 21st of October and quickly started to get some last-minute shopping done. By this time the Covid cases in India started to decline and finally we were seeing some semblance of light at the end of the tunnel.

Saying to Goodbye to my family and hello to GermanySaying to Goodbye to my family and hello to Germany
Saying bye to family has always been difficult. This time was harder. Germany is so far away from home. We make choices about how we can improve ourselves, master’s in finance was that step for me. To that end, all this is a part of life. Finally, the day of travel came. I bade farewell to my family and stepped out to the airport. With the health regulations tightened, the travel was particularly unconventional. Like I said before, historic times. With the exception of having to wear a helmet, a face mask and a pair of gloves (and with good reason), the journey was smooth and comfortable.

Arriving in Niederwerth
I landed in Frankfurt and took the train to Koblenz. All the way to Koblenz, my eyes were glued to the train’s window, tracing the beautiful Rhine river along it’s many curved edges. There were many cottages and vineyards along the banks of the river - a truly spectacular view. Every once in a while, I was delighted to see a castle popping up on the hills surrounding the Rhine river valley. I switched trains at Koblenz and was on my way to Vallendar. At Vallendar I hired a taxi to take me to my accommodation at Niederwerth. Niederwerth is an island just off the city of Vallendar on the Rhine river.

My new homeMy new home
I remember finally sitting down in my apartment bed with all the luggage still packed and sitting haphazardly in my room. So far from home. I looked out of the window; it was a bright blue sky decorated with a few fluffy clouds. I smiled to myself and felt excited about my life ahead.



Sivasankars reportsSivasankars reports

Sivasankar report no. 1

Sivasankar report no. 2

Sivasankar report no. 3

Sivasankar report no. 4

Care Student Newsletter

You want exclusive information on living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide? Then subscribe to our Care Student Newsletter!
Ms.  Mr. 


I hereby declare that I agree that the operator of the Care Student Portal, Care Concept AG, may regularly inform me via newsletter about information about living, learning and studying in Germany and worldwide. I can revoke this consent at any time.

Further information on the use of recipient data can be found in our data protection declaration at www.care-student.de/datenschutz_eng.php


Care Concept Scholarship Welcome to Germany: Sivasankar

Take part in Sivasnakar’s life in Germany:

Semester abroad in Germany

Speaking of language skills: Have you ever thought about a semester abroad in Germany? In this way you can get to know new things without wasting time.

TOP subject:
Health insurance for students in Germany

Probably you have dealt little with the topic of health insurance in Germany so far. No problem! We have compiled important information for you, e.g. when you need health insurance in Germany.

Studying at the FH in Germany

You already know that you want to study in Germany after school, but do you prefer the motto "learning-by-doing"? Then maybe an FH is something for you


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFind a suitable health insurance for students, interns, language students...


Where are you coming from? What's your destination? For how long? What's the reason for your stay abroad? How old are you?
Wo kommst du her?
What's your destination?
For how long?
What's the reason for your stay abroad?
How old are you?

Du befindest Dich hier: Care Student Krankenversicherung > Leben, Lernen, Studieren in Deutschland > Studium in Deutschland > Welcome to Germany Stipendium: Sivasankars erster Bericht

Care Concept Welcome to Germany Stipendium: Sivasankars erster Bericht: Hallo Deutschland!

Welcome to GermanyEpisode - 1: Die Reise nach Deutschland

2020 war ein sehr langes und interessantes Jahr - ein wahrhaft historisches Jahr. Von den hektischen Business-Plänen an meinem früheren Arbeitsplatz über das lang erwartete VISA-Genehmigungsverfahren bis hin zur endgültigen Landung in Deutschland gibt es so viel zu erzählen.

Warten
Als ich darauf wartete, dass die deutschen Botschaften wieder öffnen und mit der Bearbeitung der neuen Anträge für Studenten-VISAs beginnen, stieg die Rate der COVID-19-Infektionen in ganz Indien sprunghaft an. Ich behielt Gesichtsmasken und Desinfektionsmittel in der Nähe und meine Hoffnung war groß. Wie alle um mich herum blieb ich zu Hause, arbeitete aus der Ferne und ab und griff ich zu meiner alten Gitarre, um das Schweigen zu brechen.

Bei meiner TanteBei meiner Tante
Am 10. August 2020 verließ ich meine Arbeitsstelle und zog ins Haus meiner Tante, wo ich blieb, bis ich endlich nach Deutschland reisen konnte. Nachdem ich monatelang allein war, hatte ich nun endlich Gesellschaft - meine Tante und meinen Großvater. Es war eine gute Familienzeit. Es gab hausgemachte Mahlzeiten, soweit das Auge reichte, und ich machte lange Nachmittagsschläfchen, nachdem ich mich vollgestopft hatte. Mein Großvater und ich gingen früh morgens in der Kolonie spazieren. Mit Ausnahme der weit verbreiteten Covid-Tragödie, die zu dieser Zeit ihren Höhepunkt erreichte, war dies eine perfekte Zeit in meinem Leben.


Mein Visum
Gegen Ende August bekam ich schließlich einen Termin bei der deutschen Visastelle. Der Termin verlief reibungslos, und dann begann das Warten auf die Ankunft meiner VISA. Etwa zur gleichen Zeit begann meine Universität, und ich besuchte meine Vorlesungen zusammen mit dem Rest der Klasse online. Abgabetermine und lange Vorlesungen überschwemmten mein Leben schnell und unangekündigt. Dann, in der ersten Oktoberwoche, erhielt ich endlich meinen Reisepass mit dem VISA-Stempel und war bereit. Ich beschloss, am 21. Oktober zu fliegen, und machte mich schnell daran, in letzter Minute noch ein paar Einkäufe zu erledigen. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt begannen die Covid-Fälle in Indien zurückzugehen, und schließlich sahen wir einen Schimmer des Lichts am Ende des Tunnels.

Abschied von der Familie und Willkommen in DeutschlandAbschied von der Familie und Willkommen in Deutschland
Der Abschied von der Familie ist immer schwierig. Dieses Mal war es schwieriger. Deutschland ist so weit weg von zu Hause. Wir treffen Entscheidungen darüber, wie wir uns verbessern können, der Master in Finanzwissenschaften war dieser Schritt für mich. Zu diesem Zweck ist all dies ein Teil des Lebens. Schließlich kam der Tag des Reisens. Ich nahm Abschied von meiner Familie und machte mich auf den Weg zum Flughafen. Da die Gesundheitsvorschriften verschärft wurden, war die Reise besonders unkonventionell. Wie ich schon sagte, historische Zeiten. Mit Ausnahme der Tatsache, dass ich einen Helm, eine Gesichtsmaske und ein Paar Handschuhe tragen musste (und das aus gutem Grund), verlief die Reise reibungslos und bequem.

Ankunft in Niederwerth
Ich landete in Frankfurt und nahm den Zug nach Koblenz. Auf dem ganzen Weg nach Koblenz klebten meine Augen am Fenster des Zuges und verfolgten den schönen Rhein entlang seiner vielen geschwungenen Ränder. An den Ufern des Rheins gab es viele Häuschen und Weinberge - eine wirklich spektakuläre Aussicht. Ich freute mich, als hin und wieder, eine Burg auf den Hügeln rund um das Rheintal auftauchte. In Koblenz bin ich umgestiegen und machte mich auf den Weg nach Vallendar. In Vallendar nahm ich ein Taxi, das mich zu meiner Unterkunft in Niederwerth brachte. Niederwerth ist eine Insel vor der Stadt Vallendar im Rhein.

Meine neue HeimatMeine neue Heimat
Ich erinnere mich, wie ich mich schließlich in mein Bett in der Wohnung setzte, mit all dem Gepäck, das noch gepackt war, und wie ich planlos in meinem Zimmer saß. So weit weg von zu Hause. Ich schaute aus dem Fenster; es war ein strahlend blauer Himmel, der mit ein paar flauschigen Wolken verziert war. Ich lächelte vor mich hin und freute mich auf mein bevorstehendes Leben.


Sivasankars BerichteSivasankars Berichte

Sivasankar Bericht Nr. 1

Sivasankar Bericht Nr. 2

Sivasankar Bericht Nr. 3

Care Student Newsletter

Du willst exklusive Informationen zum Leben, Lernen und Studieren in Deutschland und weltweit? Dann melde dich zu unserem Care Student Newsletter an!
Frau  Herr 


Hiermit erkläre ich mich einverstanden, dass der Betreiber des Care Student Portals, die Care Concept AG, mich per Newsletter regelmäßig über Informationen zum Thema Leben, Lernen, Studieren in Deutschland und weltweit informieren darf. Diese Einwilligung kann ich jederzeit widerrufen.

Weitere Hinweise zur Nutzung der Empfängerdaten findest du in unserer Datenschutzerklärung unter www.care-student.de/datenschutz.php


Care Concept Welcome to Germany: Sivasankar

Nimm teil an Sivasankars Leben in Deutschland:

Auslandssemester in Deutschland

A propos Sprachkenntnisse: Hast du schon mal über einen Auslandssemester in Deutschland nachgedacht? So lernst du Neues kennen, ohne Zeit zu verlieren.

TOP-Thema:
Krankenversicherung für Studenten in Deutschland

Wahrscheinlich hast du dich bisher wenig mit dem Thema Krankenversicherung in Deutschland auseinandergesetzt. Kein Problem! Wir haben wichtige Informationen für dich zusammengestellt, z.B. wann du eine Krankenversicherung in Deutschland benötigst.

Studium an der FH in Deutschland

Du weißt schon genau, dass du nach der Schule in Deutschland studieren willst, gehst aber lieber nach dem Motto "learning-by-doing" vor? Vielleicht ist dann eine FH was für dich


Studentenversicherung ProduktfinderFinde die passende Krankenversicherung für Studenten, Sprachschüler...


Wo kommst du her ? Wo willst du hin ? Für wie lange? Du machst was? Wie alt bist du?
Wo kommst du her?
Wo willst du hin?
Für wie lange?
Was machst du?
Wie alt bist du?